Tapering strips

La réduction ou l’arrêt de médicaments psychiatriques, comme antidépresseurs, antipsychotiques ou anxiolytiques peut provoquer un effet de rebond et des symptômes de sevrage physiques et psychologiques. Les symptômes de sevrage peuvent être si sévères que les patients sont incapables de continuer à réduire la posologie, indépendamment de l’efficacité du médicament.

Le Projet Tapering a été lancé en 2010 pour faire face à ces problèmes en développant des doses de médicament graduellement réduites et conditionnées en bandes : les Tapering strips.

Projet Tapering

Les Tapering strips permettent aux patients de réguler le rythme de leur réduction posologique avec le temps et de diminuer la dose plus graduellement et de manière plus pratique et plus sûre qu’en utilisant un médicament standard actuellement disponible, prévenant ainsi les symptômes de sevrage.

C’est quoi ?

Dans une Tapering strip, le médicament est conditionné en rouleau ou bande de petites poches journalières. Chaque pochette est numérotée et contient une dose égale ou légèrement inférieure à celle de la pochette précédente.

Comment faire

Les bandes sont disponibles en séries couvrant 28 jours et les patients peuvent utiliser une ou plusieurs bandes pour réguler le rythme de leur réduction posologique avec le temps. Les informations imprimées sur chaque pochette et concernant la dose et le jour permettent aux patients d’enregistrer et de suivre précisément la progression de leur réduction.

Pour qui ?

Les Tapering strips sont conçues à des fins thérapeutiques dans les cas où leur utilisation améliore les soins médicaux disponibles et répond à un besoin non satisfait. Voir la liste des Tapering strips disponibles.

Experience with tapering strips

In this video Claire shares her experience using tapering strips to come off valium.

adminHomepage french

Tapering strips

The reduction or discontinuation of psychiatric medications such as antidepressants, antipsychotics or anxiolytics can cause physical and psychological withdrawal and rebound symptoms. Withdrawal symptoms may be so severe that patients are unable to continue reducing the dose, regardless of the medication’s efficacy.
In 2010, the Tapering Project was started to address these problems through the development of tapered doses of medication provided in strip packaging: tapering strips.

  • medication.jpeg

    Tapering Strips: a brilliantly simple solution to a hidden problem

    In April 2016, I was in a very difficult pace in my life. I had been diagnosed with depression, anxiety and emetophobia in 2011, and these difficulties led to the end of my 20 year career in the Uk Civil Service in 2013. I was prescribed an antidepressant and tried various psychological therapies, sadly with no improvement in my condition. Not being able to work, I felt a failure as a husband, as a father, and also as a person.

    Read more
    Guest writerTapering Strips: a brilliantly simple solution to a hidden problem

Project Tapering

Tapering strips allow patients to regulate the tempo of their dose reduction over time and enable them to taper more gradually, conveniently and safely than is possible using currently available standard medication, thereby preventing withdrawal symptoms.

What

In a tapering strip, medication is packaged in a roll or strip of small daily pouches. Each pouch is numbered and has the same or slightly lower dose than the package before it.

How

Strips come in series covering 28 days and patients can use one or more strips to regulate the tempo of their dose reduction over time. Dose and day information printed on each pouch allow patients to precisely record and monitor the progress of their reduction.

For whom?

Tapering strips are developed for medication in cases where doing so improves the medical care available and meets an unmet need. See the list with available tapering strips.

Experience with tapering strips

In this video Claire shares her experience using tapering strips to come off valium.

adminHomepage 2